top of page


Before the creation of the Bureau International des Expositions (BIE), no official, international standard was successfully implemented to categorize World Expos. The Convention Relating to International Exhibitions (1928) established an internationally agreed official categorization system that entered into force in 1931, and has been modified twice. We call these four categorization frameworks Pre-BIE, First, Second, and Third Systems.

* We are currently in the progress of updating the individual pages for each Expo so some links may not work.

Expo 1851 London.jpg


Expo 1851 London

to Expo 1933 Chicago

Expo 1851 London

Expo 1855 Paris

Expo 1862 London

Expo 1867 Paris

Expo 1873 Vienna

Expo 1876 Philadelphia

Expo 1878 Paris

Expo 1880 Melbourne

Expo 1888 Barcelona

Expo 1889 Paris

Expo 1893 Chicago

Expo 1897 Brussels

Expo 1900 Paris

Expo 1904 Saint Louis

Expo 1905 Liege

Expo 1906 Milan

Expo 1910 Brussels

Expo 1913 Ghent

Expo 1915 San Francisco

Expo 1929 Barcelona

Expo 1933 Chicago


Second System

Expo 1981 Plovdiv

to Expo 2005 Aichi

Expo 1981 Plovdiv

Expo 1982 Knoxville

Expo 1984 New Orleans

Expo 1985 Tsukuba

Expo 1985 Plovdiv

Expo 1986 Vancouver

Expo 1988 Brisbane

Expo 1991 Plovdiv

Expo 1992 Genoa

Expo 1992 Seville

Expo 1993 Daejeon

Expo 1998 Lisbon

Expo 2000 Hannover

Expo 2005 Aichi

For better map functionality, use in full screen mode, or open in a new window

bottom of page